Skip to content

Going wireless-less

February 8, 2010

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” ~ Ferris Beuller

Watching the Superbowl ads yesterday got me thinking about some of favorite advertisements, which in turn got me thinking about this recent American Express ad:

:

What I love about this ad is that it highlights the serendipitous rewards that are everywhere for those of us who are observant of our environments.

We are so conditioned to fill every moment with productivity these days that we rarely take the time to just observe what is around us- as we would were we traveling in a new landscape.  Since I got my first iPhone in September, I have become even worse at this.  Enamored with my new toy, I take every idle moment of my commute to check my e-mail: standing in a check-out line, waiting for an elevator, a subway or a cross walk light to change…

So my challenge this week is the wireless-less challenge. Rather than using my phone to remove me from my environment, I am going to use it to connect me. Every time I instinctively reach for my phone to distract me, I am going to consciously choose to observe what’s around me and find a ‘face’ of my own- or something unexpectedly beautiful- and then use my handy iPhone to take a photo of it.

Are you up for the wireless-less challenge as well?

Stay tuned (but not wireless-ly) – I will post my findings at the end of the week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

